The membership of the Knights of Columbus are divided between three tiers, or "degrees."  These are numbered the first, second and third degrees (in order of seniority).  Each group has its own specific values and respective requirements, and membership in each level is granted through a separate ceremony.

Most new members to our order will join us as part of the first degree.  A first degree ceremony is generally held once per quarter by every council.  Once a first degree member is ready to move up into the second and/or third degrees, they will attend another ceremony, often referred to as a "major degree."  Major degree ceremonies are usually held once a quarter, with the location rotating between councils in a given region, with candidates from several councils attending at the same time.